Internet Explorer is no longer supported by Microsoft. Please use another browser.
Scholarship recipients b
Interested in a scholarship?

Information for Applicantsm

We have compiled important information for you to consider before submitting an application:
The scholarship program is for students from Africa, Asia, Oceania, Latin America and Eastern Europe who wish to undertake studies at a University or Catholic College in Germany.


The aim of their stay in Germany is to acquire a Licentiate or a doctorate in theology, philosophy, canon law or related fields.


Candidates for the program must, among other things

  • be able to demonstrate excellent academic achievement (e.g. grades, exam scores),
  • submit a recommendation from the Local Ordinary or Higher Religious Superior,
  • have elementary German language skills before entering Germany,
  • declare their willingness to return to their local churches.

A scholarship within the Albertus Magnus Program includes the following:

  • A monthly stipend of 1,100€ (minus any personal contributions or donations)
  • A German language course for six months, if necessary
  • An introductory course on the social and religious situation in Germany
  • Study Counceling
  • Scientific advisory by the Academic Board of the Albertus Magnus Program
  • Regular meetings in student groups organized by tutors
  • Annual academy for all scholarship holders
  • Multiday educational events
  • Pilgrimages and possibilities for spiritual renewal and recreation

As a rule, the duration of the scholarship (without the preparatory course) is


  • for the acquisition of the licentiate 2.5 years and
  • for doctoral studies 3 years.


In exceptional cases, an extension is possible.

The academic support usually begins each year on October 1st.

A postgraduate research project can be conducted in all classic disciplines of catholic theology:


  • Historical disciplines: Ancient Church History, Medieval and Modern Church History.
  • Biblical disciplines: Old Testament, New Testament.
  • Systematic disciplines: Philosophy, Fundamental Theology, Dogmatics, Theological Ethics/Moral Theology, Christian social sciences.
  • Practical disciplines: Pastoral Theology, Religious Pedagogy, Liturgical Studies, Canon Law.

In Germany, there are currently 19 Catholic theological faculties and universities where Catholic theology can be studied postgradually. These institutions have at least ten professorships required in the universal church guidelines of the Apostolic Constitution Sapientia Christiana (cf. Art. 51.1 OrdSapChrist), the majority of them even have twelve or more professorships.


German study places (Universities and Catholic Colleges) at a glance can be found on the following Website:


Promotion: A doctorate (Dr. theol.) can be pursued at most Catholic theological faculties and universities in Germany.


Licentiate: The acquisition of the licentiate (Lic. theol. or Lic. iur. can.) is offered only at the following institutions:


Universität Augsburg, Katholisch-Theologische Fakultät
Lizentiat (lic. theol.)


Ruhr-Universität Bochum, Katholisch-Theologische Fakultät
Lizentiat (lic. theol.)



Katholische Universität, Theologische Fakultät

Lizentiat (lic. theol.)



Universität Erfurt, Katholisch-Theologische Fakultät

Lizentiat (lic. theol.)



Philosophisch-Theologische Hochschule Sankt Georgen

Lizentiat (lic. theol.)



Kölner Hochschule für katholische Theologie (KHKT)

Lizentiat (lic. theol.)



Johannes Gutenberg-Universität, Fachbereich Katholische Theologie

Lizentiat (lic. theol.)



Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität, Katholisch-Theologische Fakultät

Lizentiat (lic. theol., lic. iur. can.)



Philosophisch-Theologische Hochschule

Lizentiat mit Schwerpunkt „Theologie der Spiritualität“ (lic. theol.)



Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität, Katholisch-Theologische Fakultät

Lizentiat im Kanonischen Recht (lic. iur. can.)



Theologische Fakultät Paderborn

Lizentiat (lic. theol.)



Universität Regensburg, Katholisch-Theologische Fakultät

Lizentiat (lic. theol.)



Theologische Fakultät Trier

Lizentiat (lic. theol.)



Eberhard Karls Universität, Katholisch-Theologische Fakultät

Lizentiat (lic. theol.)



Vinzenz Pallotti University (VPU)

Lizentiat mit dem Schwerpunkt „Theologie des Apostolats“ (lic. theol.)



Julius-Maximilians-Universität, Katholisch-Theologische Fakultät

Lizentiat (lic. theol.)

Universities and colleges in Germany usually require proof of sufficient German language skills for admission to postgraduate studies, which must be proven with various language exams. The most important language examinations include:


  • Test “German as a Foreign Language” (TestDaF): You can already take the TestDaF in your home country at certified test centers.
  • German language test for university admission for foreign applicants (DSH): The DSH can only be taken at universities in Germany.
  • Goethe-Zertifikat C1: This certificate can be obtained at Goethe-Instituts worldwide and is recognised by educational institutions in Germany.
  • Other language exams: At some universities, proof of language exams from local language schools (e.g. C1 exams) are recognized.


The language requirements of universities and colleges in Germany can be found here as PDF download.

Please send your enquiry for a postgraduate scholarship to the cooperating institution (scholarship provider), which is responsible for your country of origin. You can find the contact details here. The eligibility requirements of the scholarship provider apply. Information on the application documents to be submitted can be found on their websites. You can find the application form for our Scholarship Program in our Download Center.


Alternatively, you can send your enquiry using the online form (see below). Your documents will be automatically forwarded to the co-operating institution.


Your application must be received by the scholarship provider by March 31 before the start of the academic year. Applications from Asia and Africa via the MWI must be submitted by January 15.


Please note: The selection procedure of the scholarship program requires the proposal of an institution cooperating within the framework of the program (scholarship provider). A direct application to the Albertus Magnus Program is not possible!

Are you interested in a postgraduate scholarship?

Select your region of origin here. The request will then be forwarded to the responsible office.

    You will receive an email with a link for verification. Only then do we register your application. You will then receive a confirmation e-mail for this purpose.